Alzaiton logo

Asia Cup 2023: Venue, Format, Squad, Schedule

The Asia Cup cricket tournament, inaugurated in 1984 and hosted biennially since, has long been held as an indicator of Asian cricketer’s strength in competition. From then, its presence has grown into one of cricket’s premier events on its sporting calendar. Originating as an opportunity for top cricket nations such as India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh to showcase their game and compete against one another on an equal playing field.  This tournament soon expanded its competition and include emerging cricket nations as well. Over its history, the Asia Cup has produced thrilling encounters, iconic performances, and moments of pure talent on the field. Each edition not only fosters intense competitions among nations but also builds friendship across nations to foster unity across geographical and political borders. This year’s Asia Cup stands as a testimony to the power of unity of sport and celebrates the diverse saga of cricket in the varied terrains across this Asian continent.

Asia Cup 2023

Asia Cup 2023 The Asia Cup 2023 has been scheduled between 30 August 2023 to 17 September 2023 across Pakistan and Sri Lanka. This year the Asia cup 2023 marking as 16th edition and containing one-day internationals (ODI). Pakistan will serve as host, while Sri Lanka serves as co-host where team India will participate.  The Asia Cricket Council (ACC) is the body responsible for administration which organizes this Asia Cup cricket tournament. The tournament will comprise 13 matches, with four games being played in Pakistan while the other nine being played on the island of Sri Lanka.

Asia Cup 2023 Format

  • The format of the tournament and groupings of the upcoming cricket tournament, which was announced on the 9th of January, 2023, has set the stage for a thrilling competition. The six teams that are participating are split into three groups of players each. 13 matches will be played over the course of the tournament, including six league matches as well as Six Super 4 matches, and the final.
  • Group A comprises India, Pakistan, and Nepal. The three teams were crowned champions at the qualifying competition, the 2023 ACC Men’s Premier Cup. However Group B is comprised of the current winners, Sri Lanka, along with Bangladesh and Afghanistan.
  • In the league stage, every team from the respective group will play against one another. After the end of the league games, the two teams that are the top in each group will move on to Super 4. Super 4 stages.

Asia Cup 2023 Venue

It was reported that the Asia Cup 2023 Venue had been announced by Pakistan regarding Asia Cup 2023 this year, which means that this year, Pakistan will host the Asia Cup 2023. But this time, a challenge is arising in relation to what is known as the Asia Cup 2023 Schedule, in which it is stated that Asia Cup 2023 is being hosted by Pakistan while Team India will not play in a Pakistan match.

Thus, Sri Lanka is the co-host in which team India will play in the matches in the Asia Cup 2023.

Asia Cup 2023 Squad

Here’s The 2023 Asia Cup India, Pakistan and the entire expected squad lists for the six teams.

Group A


Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Tayyab Tahir (travelling reserve).


Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumraj, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Sanju Samson (travelling reserve).


Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Mousom Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato, Arjun Saud

Group B


Shakib Al Hasan (c), Anamul Haque Bijoy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tanzim Hasan Sakib

Sri Lanka

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanaka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis (vc), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.


Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Abdul Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Suliman Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Most successful teams from the Asia Cup

Since 1984, the Asia Cup has become one of the premier cricket tournaments on the Asian continent, drawing together some of the greatest cricketing talent across Asian. Since its beginning, its competition has witnessed unforgettable memories and compelling matches; here is an overview of Asia Cup’s most successful teams:

India (won 7 Titles)

India has long been one of the dominant forces at the Asia Cup competition, winning seven times during their ownership. These victories occurred between 1984 and 2018: 1984 (won), 1988 (19 won), 90s (9 won) 1995 (10 Won), 2010 (16 Won) 2016 (2017) & 2018 (18 won). With such an extensive cricketing legacy coupled with talent they continue to prove a challenging threat during each edition.

Sri Lanka (Won 5 Titles)

Sri Lanka is one of the most successful teams in Asia Cup, having claimed five victories. Sri Lankan team won these matches since 1986 – 1986, 1997, 2000 2004, and 2022. Their exciting and aggressive style of cricket often led them to conquest during these tournaments.

Pakistan (Won 2 Titles)

Pakistan has won two Asia Cup championships – winning in 2000 and 2012. They are known for their fast bowlers and powerful batsmen. Pakistan have always been competitive throughout this tournament – their fiery fast bowlers making bowling difficult while explosive batsmen ensured them victories over India and Sri Lanka respectively. Nevertheless, their passion for cricket never died down and they continue to fight to win the title.

Asia Cup 2023 Schedule

  • The 2023 Asia Cup will begin on 9 September between Pakistan vs. Qualifying Team.
  • Super 4 matches will begin on 10 September 2023; under which the first game will begin on the B1-versus B2-matches.
  • On 11 September 2023, Super Four will play its second match between A 1 vs. A 2.
  • On September 12 and 13, Asia Cup 2023 Schedule will showcase two match spectacles of Super Four; A1 will play B1, while A 2 battle B2.
  • On 14 and 15 September respectively, two matches of Super 4 will take place pitting A 1 against B 2 and B 1 against A 2.
  • On 17 September 2023, the final match will take place between both teams that reach the finals.
  • Venues will soon be selected in Karachi, Islamabad, Rawalpindi or Multan for all these matches.